The Aviator’s Wife (A Review)

13642950When one thinks of Charles Lindbergh, they probably think of his nonstop flight in the ‘Spirit of Saint Louis’ or the kidnapping of his son. Even in the off chance they do know something of him, it’s that he had leanings toward Anti Semitism and considered moving to Germany. I didn’t know those things and furthermore, I didn’t know he was married. I think Anne Morrow Lindbergh has surely gotten the short end of the stick. For being married to one of the most famous men in the world, she is often left in his shadow despite the fact that she was an accomplished aviatrix and author in her own right.

This book was a wonderful read and I learned quite a bit about the woman behind Charles Lindbergh. ‘Behind every great man is a woman‘ is a very fitting statement. I tend to think that his later achievements would never have been accomplished if hadn’t had her support or help. When the world turned on him, she was

Image result for anne morrow lindbergh
Anne Morrow Lindbergh

there. When he traveled, she was there, raising the children. She endured his peculiarities. and there were many. I found that he was an ass (SO unlikable!) and if I were her? I’d have left him. Her life wasn’t her own once she married him. Her own dreams seemed to be put on a back burner because she was often too busy helping Charles achieve his.

I would say her love for him blinded her to certain aspects of him and that she seemed to have bit her tongue in other moments just to please him. I know considering the time, it was expected of her, but I do wish Anne had offered more fight in certain moments. I was glad when she finally found herself and began to embark on a life of her own making.

Image result for anne morrow lindbergh
Anne & Charles Lindbergh.

His betrayal of her in the end…I am certain I’d have wrung his neck but he was saying already. Her grace and strength was truly a virtue to be admired and he didn’t deserve it; not a whit.

I enjoyed this book very much and I loved learning about Anne. I think I will make it a point to read the books that she published and also to learn more about the women behind these ‘great’ men.

Leave a Reply

